MDPPA is proud recipient of Intellectual Property Champion Award

created by admin | |   News
MDPPA is proud recipient of Intellectual Property Champion Award

The MDPPA (Motorcycle Development Program Participants Association), a leading group of motorcycle manufacturers advocating for road safety and anti-counterfeiting in the Philippines was recognized by NCIPR (National Committee on Intellectual Property Rights) as one of the Intellectual Property Champions of 2015 for its efforts on anti-counterfeiting through the promotion of the patronage of original motor parts and accessories in the Philippines. MDPPA has long been an advocate of intellectual property rights and been involved in information campaign on public safety and the hazards of using counterfeit products.

"We thank NCIPR for recognizing our efforts in the advancement of intellectual property rights in the country. We believe that our anti-counterfeiting advocacy is not only beneficial to motorcycle manufacturers and companies, but more so to the general public, as we promote safety for everyone," shared Alfredo O. Lejano, Jr., Chairman of MDPPA’s Government Committee.

NCIPR, the government arm in charge of the advancement, protection and implementation of intellectual property rights in the country, bestowed the plaque of recognition to MDPPA during the 5th Philippine Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy Summit held at the

Ms. Lisette G. Fajardo (second from left), member of the MDPPA Government Committee, proudly accepted the award from IP Office of the Philippines (IPOPHL) Director General Atty. Josephine R. Santiago (third from left) and IPOPhil Deputy Director Generals Atty. Nelson P. Laluces (leftmost) and Atty. Allan B. Gepty (fourth from left).

Marriot Hotel Manila in October 2015. The committee is headed by the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI). During the summit, whose theme was "Building Cooperation Across Borders," issues such as the diverse channels and jurisdictions in the enforcement of IP were discussed among the members and participants.